Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Next Event:
  • Hillclimb forum in 29 days
  • Limerick sprint saturday Dick Bailey voting

    October 9th, 2018

    The Dick Bailey online voting email link has been sent out to all registered competitors.

    Knockalla Hillclimb 2018 Dick Bailey Award

    September 20th, 2018

    The Dick Bailey online voting email link has been sent out to all registered competitors.

    Online Wexford Hillclimb Dick Bailey award

    August 27th, 2018

    The Dick Bailey online voting email link has been sent out to all registered competitors.

    Limerick Hillclimb weekend Dick Bailey Award

    August 15th, 2018

    Limerick Hillclimb weekend Dick Bailey Award voting has been send out via email to all registered competitors who competed at the Limerick Hillclimb weekend.  


    Dick Bailey Award

    July 12th, 2018

    The Dick Bailey Award voting link has been sent out via email to all registered competitor who competed in the Carlow hillclimb. The closing date for the voting is 19/07/2018. Please check your spam mail if you did not receive the link. Happy voting.


    Mad for Tar and Paddock Banter

    June 29th, 2018

    The 2018 season undoubtedly had a faultering start but finally we’re set to go!

    Carlow Hillclimb is set to kick start the rest of the season in 1 week.
    With 5 double header weekends to go, the full Championship is up to play for.  We’re really looking forward to the reunion on the Friday night in Carlow, a catch up on everyone’s off-season prep. 
    Rob Dwane has to be impressive in his new super-charged Hyabusa OMS 25, surely the main contender with his ability and increased power. Billy White and Gary Egan will certainly keep him honest.  Although if Billy takes as long to get up the hill as he does to build his shed, he might not be so competitive.  Rory Stephens’ freshly rebuilt Radical certainly caught the eye of both the media and spectators in St Goueno, France earlier this month.  He was fastest out of all Masters cars through the speed trap at the cross roads- no mean feat.
    Ben O’Brien will really add to the excitement if he finally gets his 500+bhp European Spec M3 Racecar  to the start line.  This surely has to be the car to watch with the combination of all that power with Ben’s right foot. 
    Neil Dugan’s Cosworth 2.4 will hopefully be back under the bonnet and, if so, he can mix it with the best of them. 
    Could Derek McGuiness’ Talbot appear in Mick O’Shea’s Historic Class?  That would certainly put the cat amongst the pigeons. Great to see John Farrell has an entry in his immaculate MkI rally car (or maybe he will choose to go back and join his old buddies in the ‘hysterics’?).
    Mad Dog McKinley and the Scort will have some tenacious battle with Ben O’Brien’s new European Spec BMW.  Even giving away 200bhp, there’s sure the be great banter and battle here between the pair of them.   
    Carlow is so close now – who else can’t wait to drop the clutch on the line and go as hard as you can up a stretch of tarmac? See you all on the 6th…

    2018 Calendar

    June 29th, 2018

    2018 Calendar (as of 29th June)

    Rounds 1 Galway Sprint April 21st  
    Rounds 5 & 6 Carlow Hillclimb, Nurney, Co. Carlow, July 7th /8th  
    Rounds 7 & 8 Limerick Sprint, Glenroe, Co. Limerick, August 4th /5th  
    Rounds 9 & 10 Wexford Hillclimb August 18th / 19th
    Rounds 11 & 12 Donegal Hillclimb, Knockalla, Portsalon, Co. Donegal, September 1st / 2nd                                                  Rounds 13 & 14 Committee / Laois Co-organised Hillclimb. September 22nd / 23rd

    Rounds 3 & 4 Provisionally rescheduled –  Clare Hillclimb 6th / 7th October. Both the date and venue for this event are subject to approval at the CAC meeting on Tuesday July 3rd.

    Championship Registered Competitors

    April 24th, 2018


    The Dick Bailey voting is now online.

    We have emailed every championship competitor a link to the Dick Bailey voting page, please click the link and get voting . The closing date for the end of the voting for Galway Motor Clubs Tynagh Sprint  is Monday 20:00  30/04/2018

    April 1st, 2018


    The Naylor Engineering Hillclimb and Sprint  Championship 2018

    The world’s oldest motorsport, Speed Hillclimbing  Launch took place on Sunday 25th March at the Midway Maldron Hotel in Portlaoise. Attending the launch were competitors and motor sport clubs from all over the country. There were a trio of cars on display to show case the extreme variety of cars competing in Irish hillclimbing .


    The big wide bmw is Ben O Brien’s ex world turning car modified to produce over 500bhp this will be the first year Ben will be using this monster bmw, although not his first drive in a big power bmw. Ben is currently the overall saloon championship champion which he won in a borrowed super charged bmw e36 m3.

     On the left is Sean murrys Lotus Elan. Sean competes in the historic class which is host to cars like the Lotus Elan to pre war race cars from the 1930’s. What makes Sean’s car stand out though is the fact that he drives his car to and from all the events.

    In the middle is Roger the Renault which is a formula Renault 2.0 race car, double driven by Billy White and Gary Egan. The two have managed to put the car in the top 5 of the overall championship last year.

                                                                                                                                Also attending the Naylor Engineering Hillclimb and Sprint  Championship launch was the main sponsor John Naylor alongside Alex Sinclair CEO of Motor Sport Ireland. 

     The Naylor Engineering Hillclimb and Sprint  Championship is only weeks away, things are starting to get exciting with rumours of competitors with new engines, new aero and new cars. Only time will tell how they get on in the battle for the championship


    Rounds 2 Galway Hillclimbs April 22nd 

    Rounds 3 & 4 Wexford Hillclimbs May 26th/27th 

    Rounds 5 & 6 Clare Hillclimbs June 9th/10th 

    Rounds 7 & 8 MEC Sprints June 23rd/24th   

    Rounds 9 & 10 Carlow Hillclimb / Sprint July 7th/8th 

    Rounds 11 & 12 Limerick Hillclimb / Sprint August 4th/5th 

    Rounds 13 & 14 Donegal Hillclimbs September 1st/2nd

    Best 10 rounds to count.



    recap on last years round 1

    March 27th, 2018

      Not long now this the start of the 2018 season here a recap on last years round 1. this was Co Clare man Rob Dwane    first Irish HIllclimb event in his new car and he managed a very impressive overall win.

    Website created by Darvu Web

    Back to top