Article by: Billy Mac Con Iomaire –

Twenty one Irish drivers have now entered the Saint-Gouéno Hillclimb masters event held in Côtes-d’Armor in Brittany France. This 3.2Km (about 2 miles) ribbon of Tarmac is considered by many to be one of the most prestigious motorsport events in the French Hillclimb calendar.

The event runs from May 31st to June the 2nd and attracts thousands of spectators who flank the entire hill all the way up to the infamous Fer à Cheval hairpin bend, where the faster cars approach this bend at well over 240Km/h, and where the metal of both driver, and car are tested to their limits.

Heading up Team Ireland is current Hillclimb champion Sylvie Mullins in his Gould GR37 from Clare, triple Irish Hillclimb champion Paul O’Connell from Limerick driving a Pilbeam MP58H and double Hillclimb champion Simon McKinley of Dublin, Simon is best known for his exploits in his white MKii Escort. McKinley has an almost fanatical following of French fans that go wild at the sight of his Escort drifting around the Fer à Cheval hairpin bend. At well over 160Km/h he effortlessly drifts the car to within centimetres of the Armco barrier much to the delight of the French fans.

Indeed one of the most popular pit areas in the paddock is the Irish camp; festooned with Irish flags, banners etc. The fans adore the party spirit of the Irish competitors, and a real party atmosphere runs all weekend practically 24hrs a day.

Other Irish Drivers include father & Son Denis Hogan Snr & Denis Hogan Jnr from Limerick; Denis Snr will be driving his immaculate Hillman Avenger BRM, while Denis jnr will drive his BMW M3.

Irish drivers confirmed are:


1. Sylvie Mullins Gould GR37
2. Paul O’Connell Pilbeam
3. Simon McKinley Lant RT2
4. Deirdre McKinley Opel Lotus
5. Joe Connolly Ford Escort
6. Alex Wilsdon MK Indy
7. Tom Connolly Westfeild Megabusa
8. Denis Hogan BMW M3
9. Denis Hogan Snr. Hillman Avenger BRM
10. Eanna Carroll Honda Civic
11. Michael Feeney MG ZR
12. Sennan O’Connor Fiat Cinquecento
13. Rory Stephens Radical SR8
14. Ben O’Brien BMW E30
15. Robert Swaine Fiat Punto
16. Michael Melia Ford Sierra Cosworth
17. Joe Courtney Fiat Cinquecento
18. Mick O’Shea MGB GT
19. Russell Stanworth Reynard Formula Vauxhall Lotus
20. Barry Smith Ford Escort Mexico
21. Trish Daly Mini

Most of the crews will be leaving via Ferry on the Tuesday before the event, and we wish them a safe journey and best of luck at the event.

For more Information on the event visit: information for English entries. official event webpage.