In just under 2 weeks time, the very best of Hillclimb competitors will gather in Eschdorf in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg for the very first edition of the FIA Hill Climb Masters. The competition is intended to be the major closing celebration of the 2014 season, bringing together the best drivers of the year gone by, whether they have proved themselves in the FIA European Hill Climb Championship and the International Hill Climb Cup or in the national championships of the ASNs.

As well as competing for overall honours in each category four competitors from each ASN will form a team to compete for the Nations Cup.

Six Irish competitors are making the trip to this event which not only gives them the opportunity to compete on the international stage but also allows us to demonstrate the immense talent contained within the Irish Championship.

Each ASN must appoint a Team Captain to be the liaison between competitors in their delegation and the FIA and event organisers and will also be the ASNs ambassador at the event. The Team Captain also selects the Team of 4 drivers that will contest for the Nations cup. Motorsport Ireland has appointed this position to the Chairman of the Hillclimb & Sprint Committee Tommy Murphy.

The Team that will represent Ireland in the Nations Cup is made up of 5 members, 4 drivers and Team Captain.

All Irish drivers in the delegation are receiving official support from Motorsport Ireland and Naylor Engineering.

With so many people from Ireland planning on travelling to the event to support the Irish drivers Eschdorf is sure to be a sea of green white and gold for the weekend.

For and on behalf of the Hillclimb & Sprint Committee.

Tommy Murphy.