With a big gap in the championship between 500 MRCI and Donegal, drivers are looking for a blast. Carrick-on-Suir Motorclub played host to a non-championship event in Piltown.

With 51 entries and bright sunshine on the Sunday morning, it promised to be a good day. As drivers arrived in the paddock, the first job for the day was to break into Rory (granddad) Stephens camper after he locked the keys in it (and Simon McKinley was hungry).

On the 1st run John C Byrne led the way in his Jedi followed closely by Rory Stephens in his Radical, with Simon McKinley in a distant third in his Escort.

On run 2 John C Byrne set a blistering time, nearly 2 seconds clear of the field. Rory was still whooshing around in 2nd. But David Cullen moved into 3rd with a great run in his recently acquired Delta T85, which he double drives with his brother Mark. However with Mark hitting every cone he could find, he was yet to set a time.

As the final run started, John C Byrne went quicker again and thought he had done enough to take the event. Rory improved his time, but couldn’t get the better of the nimble Jedi. However, John was in for a surprise with last man up the hill, Mark Cullen, in the Delta T85 with a great run and this time missing all the cones to take his maiden win it looks like there are good things to come from the Cullen’s brothers as they are getting to grips with their new car.

4th went to David Cullen, 5th was Simon McKinley in his Escort, 6th was Wexford man Liam Howlett in his Escort, 7th went to Eddie Power in his beautifully turned out Corolla WRC, 8th was Ian Quinn in his Mini Busa proving that it goes better when it’s not on its roof. 9th was Richard Davis in his OMS and rounding out the top 10 was James Bradley.

Class 1 went to Elaine O Reilly in her Mini after repairing her gearbox from her last outing in the North, but at the end of the day she was more worried where the beans and chips were. 2nd place went to William Power in another Mini followed in 3rd position by Larry Power in his Swift.

Class 2 went to the ever quick James Doherty in his Starlet, 2nd was Eddie Lyons in his Honda Intergra, 3rd went to Brendan Quinn in his Toyota Corolla.

Class 3a went to Ian Quinn in his Mini Busa, 2nd was Seamus Mulcahy in his MK Indy RR.

Class 3b went to Rory Stevens in his Radical SR37, 2nd was Simon McKinley in his Escort and 3rd was Eddie Power in his Corolla WRC.

Class 4 went to Colin Grant in his Ginetta 615, 2nd went to Edward Flahavan in his Lancia Fulvia.

Class 6 went to John C Byrne in his Jedi, 2nd was Richard Davis in his OMS Special and 3rd was Edwin Rynhart in his Delta T83.

Class 7 went to David Cullen in his Delta T85, 2nd was Deidre Delaney in her Reynard and 3rd was Brendan Harpur in his Delta T81.

Class 8 went to Ger O Brien in his Clio with 2nd going to Alan Barry in his Escort and Stephan Scallon taking 3rd in his Civic.

Class 9 went to Liam Howlett in his Escort, 2nd was James Bradley in an Escort and 3rd was Jack Deegan in his Peugeot 206.

 Article By: Brendan Harpur P.R.O.